Creative writing in Manitoba's Interlake.

2018 Contest

Watch this space for new contest in 2018.

$30 submission fee includes entry into Lake Winnipeg Writers Group.


Let's meet the winners of 2016!


Winner of the first prize in the Poetry category:


Mariah Devcic is a BFA student in her last year at the University of British Columbia. This is her first publication. She is excellent at folding towels and terrible at writing bios.


Winner of the second prize in the Poetry category:


carter-vance-2nd-place-poetryCarter Vance is a student and aspiring poet originally from Cobourg, Ontario, currently studying at Carleton University in Ottawa. His work has appeared in such publications as The Vehicle, (parenthetical) and F(r)iction, amongst others





Winner of an Honorable Mention in the Poetry category:


harvey-jenkins-honorable-mention-poetryHarvey Jenkins lived and worked on Vancouver Island for twenty years and enjoyed the west coast lifestyle. Recently retired, and wanting to be closer to his family, Harvey moved back to Winnipeg in early 2014.

Harvey is a writer of haiku, poetry and prose and has been published in over twenty poetry anthologies, chapbooks and magazines. In 2013, he published his book, Haiku Moments on the Camino: France to Finisterre. This book recounts, in prose and haiku, his Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage.

Harvey is a member of both the Manitoba Writers’ Guild and Haiku Canada. He is a regular contributor to Haiku Canada’s various reviews and anthologies.


Winner of the first prize in the Fiction category: 


Donna Frommelt-Ross

Donna began writing stories for fun in first grade and she's been writing short fiction ever since. Her first published story touches on topics that relate to her multicultural roots. Donna is part Ukrainian and part Saulteaux First Nations with a hint of German.

She attends the University of Winnipeg where she is currently working on completing her degree in Education through the Community-based Aboriginal Education Program (CATEP).

She and her husband, Mike, along with their two dogs live near the creek in Petersfield, MB.


Winner of the second prize in the Fiction category:


Mitchell Toews is a marketing and advertising executive. He lives and works and vexes his grandkids in the Cascadia region on the West Coast. His summers are spent at Jessica Lake in Manitoba in the windy intermingling between the top of the water and the bottom of the sky.

Mitchell's short fiction, "A Fisherman's Story" appears in Rhubarb Magazine issue 39 (launching Sept 7) and his stories have also appeared in Fiction on the Web (UK) and CommuterLit (CA).

"So Are They All" is the author's sixth published work.



Meet the 2016 Judges...

Kevin Spenst is our 2016 judge for the Poetry category.
A Pushcart Poetry nominee, Kevin is the author of Jabbering with Bing Bong (Anvil Press) and ten chapbooks including Pray Goodbye (the Alfred Gustav Press), Retractable (the serif of nottingham), and Surrey Sonnets (JackPine Press). He has done a one-man show at the Vancouver Fringe Festival and over a hundred readings across the country. His work has won the Lush Triumphant Award for Poetry, been nominated for both the Alfred G. Bailey Prize and the Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry, and has appeared in dozens of publications including Prairie Fire, CV2, BafterC, Lemon Hound, Poetry is Dead, and the anthology Best Canadian Poetry 2014. He lives and works in Vancouver, B.C. where he's an enthusiastic participant in a number of writing communities. A second collection of poetry, Ignite, is forthcoming with Anvil Press in 2016.Visit Kevin's website at

Bev_Sandell_GreenbergBev Sandell Greenberg is our 2016 judge for the Creative Non-Fiction category.

Bev is a Winnipeg writer and editor. Her fiction can be found in several Canadian and American literary magazines, such as The Nashwaak Review, The Knight Journal and Prairie Fire. Her novel manuscript Magda’s Five Men received a Letter of Distinction from the Humber School for Writers. Bev’s non-fiction publication credits include Mix Magazine, Herizons Newest Review, Uptown, Lilith, The Globe & Mail and Room. She currently reviews book for the Winnipeg Free Press and writes articles about authors for Prairie Books NOW.

Keith CadieuxKeith Cadieux is our 2016 judge for the Fiction category.

Keith's novella Gaze was listed for a Manitoba Book Award and a ReLit award.

His short fiction has recently appeared in Prairie Fire, Grain, and ELQ. He is the co-editor of The Shadow Over Portage and Main, an anthology of dark and weird stories due out in April, 2016 from Enfield & Wizenty.

Keith lives in Winnipeg.


Voices Submission

Members' deadline for Voices submission
Date: Wednesday, February 28th, 2018


L.W.W.G. March Executive Meeting
Date:  Saturday, March 10th - 12:30pm
Location: Gaynor Family Regional Library, Selkirk.